Denie Augustijn – Programme Director D.C.M. Augustijn (Denie) | University of Twente Innovation is an essential component of great civil engineering projects. When it comes to engineering projects, there is no room for complacency. To make the most of any project, it is important to constantly adapt and innovate. This means learning from past mistakes, taking risks and pushing the boundaries of what is possible. Innovative civil engineering projects have the potential to revolutionize entire industries. New and innovative infrastructure works and construction projects create new business opportunities and stimulate economic development. Innovative civil engineering projects also have the potential to create a more sustainable future. Modern day engineers are constantly looking for ways to reduce their environmental impact and develop solutions that are more energy efficient. Innovation is essential for progress. It is only through innovation that civil engineers can continue to create great projects that have a positive impact on the world.  On this 30th ConcepT Symposium you will hear compelling examples of lessons learnt from great civil engineering projects and how they have led to new visionary plans. I wish everyone an inspiring symposium.  Stefan Kuks  Waterschap Vechtstromen works to ensure safe, sufficient and clean water for over 800,000 residents in the eastern Netherlands.  Some 70 million euros are invested annually in climate adaptation and water quality improvement projects. One such project is the Kristalbad, a 40-hectare water storage area between Enschede and Hengelo.  The Kristalbad can store 187,000 cubic metres of water and prevent flooding in Hengelo. As an ecological ‘water machine’ and connecting zone between Drienerlo and Twekkelo, it brings purified wastewater from Enschede back to life. Spatially, the area is laid out as a ‘barcode’. Eye-catching watchtowers offer wide views over the area. The Kristalbad has been declared a European icon project.  On the 7th of Febrary study association ConcepT organizes a civil engineering symposium where many interesting topics like that of the Kristalbad will be discussed in the midst of students, experts and professors. I wish all attendees an interesting, and even more an inspiring day on the 7th of February. Roelof Bleker
Mayor of Enschede Roelof Bleker is also a member of the Identification Committee of the Symposium 2023.